John Lewis give 2 year guarantee on white goods appliances

Miele W570 leaking from water path seal between water inlet valve and mechanism behind dispenser

Hi all,

My W5780 alerted me to a "waterproof fault" i.e. the bottom of the machine had pooling water internally.

I've traced the leak to the black rubber "water path seal" between the water inlet valve and the mechanism behind the dispenser tray. As the machine fills, water is being pushed out backwards from the dispenser tray, forcing the seal (which doesn't have any clamp) to leak. Any advice please? All other electrical and mechanical systems are working fine. Seal looks good when removed. Could blocked nozzles or something inside the dispenser tray be allowing pressure to build in the incoming water and forcing it back out?

Be so grateful for any help - we have health issues in the family and can't really allow an engineer in to repair during Covid-19 outbreak. I'm a decent home mechanic and electrician, so given a steer I can probably solve it myself - I just didn't want to dissassemble the machine further than necessary without some advice!

Thanks.

water leak.jpg

• Root Admin

If the seal looks okay have you tried just cleaning it up and refitting? If it's the type of seal that can be fitted the reverse way round that sometimes works but if it's obviously designed to go one way then you won't be able to. It's surprising how sometimes small seals can leak just because they get gunged up and once cleaned and refitted everything is okay.

Need a repair or spare parts? 

Book a Repair | Buy appliance spares (Cheapest prices guaranteed)