Appliance Offers
Sam Miller

Miele W570 leaking from water path seal between water inlet valve and mechanism behind dispenser

Hi all,

My W5780 alerted me to a "waterproof fault" i.e. the bottom of the machine had pooling water internally.

I've traced the leak to the black rubber "water path seal" between the water inlet valve and the mechanism behind the dispenser tray. As the machine fills, water is being pushed out backwards from the dispenser tray, forcing the seal (which doesn't have any clamp) to leak. Any advice please? All other electrical and mechanical systems are working fine. Seal looks good when removed. Could blocked nozzles or something inside the dispenser tray be allowing pressure to build in the incoming water and forcing it back out?

Be so grateful for any help - we have health issues in the family and can't really allow an engineer in to repair during Covid-19 outbreak. I'm a decent home mechanic and electrician, so given a steer I can probably solve it myself - I just didn't want to dissassemble the machine further than necessary without some advice!

Thanks.

water leak.jpg

Book washing machine & appliance repairs

Ransom Spares

Note: The links above are needed to help keep this site running, please consider using them.

If the seal looks okay have you tried just cleaning it up and refitting? If it's the type of seal that can be fitted the reverse way round that sometimes works but if it's obviously designed to go one way then you won't be able to. It's surprising how sometimes small seals can leak just because they get gunged up and once cleaned and refitted everything is okay.

Need an engineer, or to buy appliance spare parts? Please use my affiliate links to support this forum.

Book appliance engineer | Buy your appliance Spares