Book washing machine & appliance repairs

Ransom Spares

Note: The links above are needed to help keep this site running, please consider using them.

Celtictaj

W980 Any Others Out There?

My much loved w980 miele washer has just gone seriously wrong for the first time in the 10+ years I have had it.

Ive done all the usual things (cleaned the filter, cleaned dispenser tray etc, and checked the drain), but it's not happy so first thing in the morning I will getting onto the Miele service dept. Has any one else had any problems with a machine of this age?

I have to say that despite this hiccup and the potential cost I still think that the £1100 I spent on this machine was best money ever spent; My poor old machine does anything between 7 and 20 loads a week and we live in North Norfolk where the water ishard beyond belief (most appliences just commit suicide when they hear the post code. not being up to being entombed in limescale).For many years I worked as a residential social worker for people with learning difficulties and physical disabilities, many of the places I worked in had Miele machines which often worked 24/7 and I never saw one go wrong.

I will let you know how things go with the Miele engineer.

Book washing machine & appliance repairs

Ransom Spares

Note: The links above are needed to help keep this site running, please consider using them.

In theory, your Miele washing machine is only halfway through its expected lifespan, it could last another 10 years yet. It will be interesting to see how much it costs to fix and whether you think it's worth investing in a repair or not. As you infer in your post, it's not just the length of service that we should judge a washing machine on, but also how reliable its been and the kind of service its given - eg. quiet, smooth - a pleasure to use etc. so it's still viable to say its been a good buy even if you scrapped it now.